February 19, 2014

Lois Lowry's masterpieces

The Giver Quartet
by Lois Lowry

Anyone who has ever read The Giver, Lowry's first book in this collection, has never forgotten it. The story of Jonas and Gabriel will haunt you long after you have finished it. The sense of unease continues in the second book, Gathering Blue, which, while not a sequel, nonetheless continues the themes of freedom and choice introduced in the first. Each book in the set can be read on its own, but they are even more powerful when read in sequence. Irrepressible Matty from Gathering Blue gets his own story in Messenger, while all characters come together movingly in Son, the concluding book of the quartet.

Words can't really express how great these books are. I can only say that you must read them! Very highly recommended.

No comments: